Exciting News From Author Robin Shope

[tweetmeme source=”your_twitter_name”]

*Contest – 3 Book Giveaway*

Robin Shope is a Special Education Coordinator for the Denton County Juvenile Justice Alternative Program. She works with at-risk teens from the fifth grade through high school, who have been court-ordered to attend the facility or be expelled from school.

Her literary works include hundreds of articles in magazines, as well as, several books including The Easter Edition, The Christmas Edition, The Valentine Edition, Wildcard, Passages, and Ruby Red.

Robin, you have all sorts of wonderful things going on right now, I hardly know where to start. Let’s see, can you start by telling us about your latest book release, The Easter Edition.

That book has a large piece of my heart written throughout the pages. In part, it tells the story of me. Some of the situations and heartbreak are simply mine. But we are discussing Carol Horn, the protagonist, not me at this point, so back to third person. Carol, a wedding gown designer and shop owner, has just suffered a devastating blow. As she tries to reorder her life, a young, single pastor comes to town. Not only is he a gifted speaker but he is easy on the eyes. Naturally he has a past. It isn’t a clean one either, which sets the tongues a wagging at the small town church. But Carol doesn’t care, she falls for him anyway and he for her. Yet, she feels a strong pull to serve God in a unique manner that doesn’t include marriage. Will it turn out all right for Carol and will she make the right choice. Did I?

I keep hearing buzz about your book, The Christmas Edition, which is being made into a motion picture. How exciting! Fill us in on the latest and greatest—inquiring minds want to know.

I invite all those who haven’t become a fan of Journey to Paradise Movie on Facebook to do so. (Also, befriend me, please. I would love to meet you).

Isn’t it remarkable how God uses such ordinary people to do something extraordinary with? I marvel over this fact. Years ago, Steven Zambo, the creator, director, producer of Salty Earth Pictures, approached my co-author of another book to do a movie. The deal never got off the ground. Then last year I sent Steve a copy of my book, The Christmas Edition. After a few phone calls to work out the details, we signed a contract. I have received so many emails from authors asking how to get their book made into a movie and I haven’t a clue. This was a unique gift from God that fell into my lap. All I can say is this, don’t get caught up in the money issue, rather get caught up in making things happen.

It’s been fun to watch the making of a movie on Facebook. The movie trailer is amazing and gives me chills every time I watch it. Even after a thousand and one viewings I still get teary-eyed. Kleenex please. This is a movie the whole family can watch together, which means a lot to me. Just think, a little girl who once couldn’t make up her mind to be a movie star or a missionary when she grew up is now having a movie made based on one of her books (and I spent time as a missionary too.)

As if you don’t already have enough on your plate, tell us about other projects you’re working on.

My young adult novel, Ruby Red, is about to be released by Sparklesoup LLC. However, Kathi Macias, dear friend and fellow award winning author, says adults will enjoy the book just as much. It’s about an eleven-year-old African American girl who hops onboard the Orphan Train in 1925, meant for white children only. The story is full of grit and adventure and hope. Ruby’s indomitable character shines. Kailin Gow, publisher/editor at Sparklesoup says this about Ruby Red…”the writing is beautiful. This is the girl version of Huckleberry Finn and Oliver Twist. Sure to be a classic.” Sparklesoup.com

I just signed a contract on the second book in the series. Watch for Ruby Red’s release, soon to be carried on Amazon and available on Apple iPad! What an honor to have everyone join Ruby Red Fan Page on Facebook. We will be doing all things Ruby Red from class/group discussion questions, contests, promotions and forums. No one wants to miss all the giveaways!

Ruby Red will also be part of a new girl’s social club site for girls age 13 to 19 that is coming out in June called, The Shy Girls Social Club, based on a book by the same title coming out in June. The website link is: shygirlssocialclub.com. Right now it is still under construction, but it will be up by end of April. What a great way for young girls, and the adults who love them, to spend their summer.

The story is set in an important time in history that many people are not aware about. Great summer reading! Ruby didn’t know she sparkled with beauty like the gem whose name she carried. Her skin was like lush earth darkened by the heat of summer’s noonday sun. But it wasn’t the green of summer it was the white of winter and Ruby had no place to call home.

As a teacher working with teens, I think it’s important to get morally valuable books into the classroom, and I am proud that Ruby Red is such a book. My Texas school district will have this book in their classrooms.

Already I have amazing endorsements. Here are a few…

“Robin Shope continues to write captivating books. She is at her best with her multi-layered characterization of Ruby Red. In the 1920s saga, Shope reels us into heartbreak and healing.”  Kyle Saylors, TV producer and producer of film Kimjongilia, theatrically released internationally and nominated for Grand Jury Prize at Sundance, screened at US Capitol, and featured on Fox News- Greta van Susteren.

**”Ruby Red is a poignant story of an abandoned child with an indomitable spirit. The delightful imagery and poetry of written words will propel the reader to the era gone by, bringing a story of hope and survival that will warm even the most jaded hearts.” Bonnie Calhoun, Publisher of “Christian Fiction Online Magazine”

Ruby Red by Robin Jansen Shope is one of the most exquisitely written, poignant stories I’ve come across in years. The words sing, even as the tale of Ruby Red breaks your heart and summons you to a deeper, nobler existence. I am surprised it’s called a historical young adult novel because I think ANY adult would enjoy it! This is the first work I’ve read by this author, but it will certainly not be the last!” Kathi Macias, Award-winning author of thirty books, including No Greater Love (April 2010) and Valeria’s Cross (October 2010)

“Robin Jansen Shope has done it again! Ruby Red is a spell-binding tale that will grab you on page one and won’t turn you lose until you’ve read The End. Sadness and grief are superbly balanced with uplifting joy, and when you add this one to your Keepers Shelf, you’ll feel as though you’ve met Ruby in person. If I were doling out stars, I’d give Robin four for this one!” Loree Lough, author of 75 award-winning books, including reviewer favorite Love Finds You in North Pole, Alaska and the soon-to-be-released Beautiful Bandit, book one in her Lone Star Legends series.

And now for the contest! Robin is offering an over-the-top 3 book giveaway. Leave a comment to enter the drawing to win Ruby Red, The Easter Edition, and The Christmas Edition. Please note, The Christmas Edition will not be available until late fall. The contest winner will be announced April 29th.

 

  

Related Posts:

Something New From Author Robin Shope

Positive Books and Stories for Young People

Children’s Books and Young Adult Books with Author Katy Pistole

 

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

 

29 Responses

  1. I look forward to reading your comments and chatting with everyone today!

  2. Wow! What a great interview! Many congratulations, Robin. God is using you in a huge way!

    I can’t wait to get to read your books.

    Blessings,
    Susie

  3. I believe the “fall in the lap” opportunities will continue as your heart is to share Him with others above all. This was a great interview. Blessings to you!

  4. I became a Facebook fan of “Journey to Paradise” so I could following the transformation of The Christmas Edition into a movie. Fascinating process. I recommend it to those who share that kind of interest.
    J

  5. Thank you Susan and Julie. Your words are a great source of encouragement to me.

  6. Thank you John. Always good to hear from you.

  7. Hey Robin, I am definitely reading Ruby Red. And when do I get to review a book? ? ? So happy to see the Easter Edition is out… I’m sure it was an awesome follow up to the Christmas Edition.

  8. You inspire us all with your humble approach to serving God! Blessings!

  9. I am so excited for ruby red:) can’t wait to read it in full! thank you robin for so much goodness! xo

  10. Robin, i’ve heard such great things about your work! LOVE your covers. Beautiful!

  11. Kit, I do have very talented people doing my covers. I am in awe by their talents. Amy! I am excited for you to read Ruby Red. Donna, those are the sweetest words ever spoken to me..I treasure them. Jessica, you can review a book of mine anytime!
    love to you all!

  12. I’ve been following Robin for a while and get more excited with each announcement. What a thrill ride.

  13. Robin,
    I can’t wait to see your movie, Journey To Paradise! I have been following the progress on Salty Earth Pictures web site.
    God’s continued blessings to you and your work!

  14. I started reading Robin’s books after my friends tsated the production of the Cristmas Edition into the new hit movie to be released. Rarely does my wife find what I may read to be of interest to her. This was not the case with the Valentine’s Edition and now she is onto the Christmas Edition and we have shared it wit many other people.

    I am looking forward to Ruby Red coming out, because I have read a couple of different books about the orphan trains, which is an amazing part of american history.

  15. Robin, thank you for being my guest today. It’s such a pleasure having you here!

  16. What a great interview! As Robin’s publisher for Ruby Red, I must say it is one of those books you rarely come across where you say, “This must be published!” I’m proud to be a part of the process of bringing Ruby Red to readers. If Ruby Red is an example of Robin’s extraordinarily good writing, then all her books are a blessing to read. To get a copy, I’m happy to announced, Ruby Red is now available on Amazon.com for Pre-orders! http://www.amazon.com/Ruby-Red-Robin-Jansen-Shope/dp/1597489050/ref=sr_1_5?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1272295197&sr=1-5

  17. I’ve enjoyed reading this very much. You are clearly gifted and prolific. All the best. I rarely find that book giveaways include ‘overseas’ i.e. addresses outside the US so I don’t expect anything to come of this. Doesn’t matter!

    Ann

  18. How exciting that on am on this blog the day Ruby Red is open for Amazon pre-sales. I hope you all fall inlove with the inspiration young girl. Its a book the whole family will enjoy reading together and it also involves historical events.

    God bless you all and thank you for taking time out of your busy day to stop and comment.

  19. Thanks for a great interview, Robin. I take a lot of inspiration from you. Linda Clare, author of The Fence My Father Built (Abingdon 2009) and more.

  20. Robin is a sweet wonderful lady. I’ve enjoy getting to know her via FB. Can’t wait to see her books come to life on the screen.

  21. Robin is super. I can’t wait to read her newest book.

  22. Ruby Red sounds like a wonderful book. I would love to win the books. Thank you.

  23. Robin, I am so excited for you! From what I hear from Steve Zambo on the movie it will be wonderful. I have worked with Steve and know his talent so it should be a real treat…Thank you for your words!

  24. Wow! Under what rock have I been hiding? What a cool story. Leave it to Sharon for splashing it across the airwaves!!! Ruby Red, here I come!!

    Blessings,
    Patti

  25. Wow! What an amazing background! Thanks for sharing. I agree that Ruby Red will be a great book for adults, also. I can’t imagine how these kids felt. Please enter me. Thanks.
    desertrose5173 at gmail dot com.

  26. I went to school with Robin. We hung out periodically. It is amazing how much Robin has accomplished. I am ready to read any of her books. I feel like I know a famous Author. Great Job Robin

  27. Great interview, Robin and Sharon!

    Robin, I love how you said, “Isn’t it remarkable how God uses such ordinary people to do something extraordinary with? ” May He continue to use you in a mighty way!

  28. Wonderful job. May the blessings of God continue to flow through the work he has provided for you to accomplish. You must be absolutely thrilled, and with great reason. It’s soooooooo cool!!!

  29. You are all so sweet. I appreciate all the delightful and warm and thoughtful comments. To anyone who pre-orders Ruby Red from amazon, let me know and I have a gift for you. thank you!
    http://www.amazon.com/Ruby-Red-Robin-Jansen-Shope/dp/1597489050/ref=sr_1_14?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1272455609&sr=8-14

Leave a Reply

