Websites with Freelance Writing Jobs

The strangest thing happened to me this year. After years of writing my novel and making zero dollars from my words, out of the blue, I was hit with this intense desire to actually make money as a writer. Imagine that…I write something, and someone actually pays me money for it. How cool is that? Maybe I need a break from the rejection letters piling up in my office or maybe momma just wants a few new toys—a new Mac computer is at the top of my list—but doggone it I’m going to make money as a writer even if it kills me. So off I went, looking for freelance writing jobs, and hoping to find something that would pay more than pennies.

Wow, what an eye-opener. I was amazed at how many opportunities have the exact same markings as other scams I’ve encountered on the internet. To say, “Writer beware” is an understatement. But on the plus side, there are a few sites that are worth taking a look at, as long as you don’t go in with blinders on.

Suite101.com

DemandStudios.com

Odesk.com

Elance.com

Examiner.com

Hubpages.com

Always remember…if something sounds too good to be true, it probably is.

Related Posts:

Internet Fraud – Beware of Online Scams

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

2 Responses

  1. How did you find these? Are they really for real? Like you–I’d love to get paid for my work.

  2. Carol, these websites are real! I’m a contributing writer at Suite101.com and they’re always looking for more writers. You should check them out. 🙂

Leave a Reply

