Hootsuite vs. TweetDeck

I’ve been thinking very seriously about using a Twitter client desktop app like Hootsuite or TweetDeck for awhile now. Lots of Twitter buddies I chat with rave about TweetDeck, but I’ve also heard good things about Hootsuite as well. Being the curious little bugger that I am, I decided to check out both products to see how each of them works. Since many of you reading this blog are also on Twitter, I thought I’d share my findings in case you’re curious, too.

From what I can see, the products are quite similar, as you probably guessed. Here is a brief list of the primary features and benefits of each product.

Hootsuite

• Easily manage multiple Twitter accounts, which is great for business and personal use.

• Share account access with others who use or monitor the account. For example a personal assistant, partner, boss, friend etc.

• Track statistics on how many clicks your tweets have received. Statistics can be broken down per tweet or in a summary form.

• The multi-column view offers the ability to organize into columns using as many groupings as you like. For example, you can group by anything from friends to keywords, or popular trends.

• Manage followers

• Schedule tweets

TweetDeck

• Organize groups in order to follow specific Twitter users based on your individual preferences. For example, you may want to follow writers, book lovers, chess players, music lovers, SEO experts, etc.

• Create columns and track multiple views while remaining in the main viewing window. For example, let’s say you want to group all of your Twitter buddies together, the ones you talk to most frequently. By setting up a column you can see them all together and track their tweets more closely.

• Easily upload pictures using Twitpic, a photo sharing tool.

• Facebook, LinkedIn, and Myspace integration.

• Built in URL shortener using bit.ly.

• Use Tweetdeck on your mobile phone.

In choosing a Twitter client it really comes down to what you want out of the product. If you’ve had experience with one of these, or even a different product like these, please tell us what your experience has been.

Related Posts:

Barnes and Noble Nook vs. the Amazon Kindle

The Vook is Here

Something New Coming from Apple…Maybe – The iTablet Computer

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

6 Responses

  1. I think Seismic is the one I use….but here’s my true confession: I only log into Twitter about every 3rd day or so. LOL! I’m a terrible Tweeter. I always want to, but then I end up spending too much time….

  2. Hi Sharon –

    Sorry for the hiatus. I took a break for a few days.

    I’m not on Twitter. Facebook and my blog are all I can manage at this point.

    Blessings,
    Susan 🙂

  3. Georgiana, I try to get on Twitter at least once a day, but some days that’s just impossible. Thanks for telling me about Seismic. I’ll be sure to check this product out.

  4. Susan, I understand having to take a Hiatus. I’ve been on one myself and I need to get caught up. 🙂

  5. I’ve never tried HootSuite, but I use and love TweeDeck. It’s groups feature makes it so much easier to keep track of people and respond to them.

  6. Katie, I’ve heard that about TweetDeck. I’ve also heard that TweetDeck tends to hog a lot of memory so I’m a little concerned about that. Yikes!

Leave a Reply

