Inspirational Romance Author – Delia Latham

Delia Latham is a born-and-bred California gal, recently transplanted to Oklahoma where she lives with her husband Johnny. She’s a Christian wife, mother, grandmother, sister, and friend—but above all, she treasures her role as child of the King and heir to the throne of God. Delia enjoys big, loud, happy family gatherings and quieter times with just her own four children and grandchildren. She loves to play piano and sing, read, drink in the natural beauty of her surroundings, design marketing products for authors, and write. Delia’s inspirational novel, Goldeneyes, was released in March 2008; Yesterday’s Promise released March 2010; and a children’s book, Adam’s Wings, will be out in December 2010. Find out more about Delia’s blog tour and her books at www.delialatham.net.

Delia, how exciting that your book, Yesterday’s Promise, has just been re-released as an e-book. Can you start by telling us what the book is about?

Thanks, Sharon. I’m excited! It’s great to know my book won’t be forgotten…not today, anyway. 🙂 Here’s the back cover text … though I’m not sure how an e-book can have a “back cover.” Hmmm…

A whirlwind romance amidst the natural splendor of Yosemite National Park. A spur-of-the-moment wedding. A young bride who awakens the morning after to find her new husband gone with the mountain wind.

Songbird Hannah Johns supports the child born of that ill-fated union by singing in a dinner lounge. Her dream of someday owning the elite establishment and turning it into a venue more suited to her Christian values is shattered when an unexpected transaction places it in the hands of Brock Ellis, the handsome biker who abandoned her in their honeymoon suite.

Ensuing sparks fly high, revealing buried secrets and forgotten pasts. Seeking to find peace with her painful past, Hannah returns to Yosemite, only to have Brock show up hard on her heels. Back where it all began, she finds herself in danger of losing her heart yet again to the man who shattered it the first time around.

Your book Goldeneyes has an interesting premise. Tell us about the novel and where the story idea came from.

Goldeneyes will always be close to my heart. It’s set in Weedpatch, the little California agricultural community where I grew up. It’s also the site of a well-known farm labor camp, one of several John Steinbeck visited while doing research for Grapes of Wrath. Many of the current residents of Weedpatch and its surrounding areas settled there during the Great Depression, when they migrated to the area looking for work in the fields of the San Joaquin Valley. I used that bit of history to base the book on, then let my imagination (and God’s inspiration!) do the rest.

Here’s the back cover blurb for that one:

A man’s eyes are the windows to his soul … if he has one.

Deep in the darkness of a Depression-era night, a man addicted to alcohol commits an unspeakable crime to obtain it. His vile action impacts the lives of two entire families, and decades will pass before the horrible wrong begins to be made right again.

Two young women—strangers to each other—unknowingly enmeshed in a Pandora’s Box of secrets that could prevent them from finding happiness with the men they love. Two adoring mothers who know more than they are willing to say. A newsman with a story he cannot tell.

What is their connection, and who is the golden-eyed stranger who moves in the shadows of their broken lives?

Have you ever experienced writer’s block? If you have, how did you overcome it? If you have not, what other writing challenges have you faced?

Oh, yes. I experienced a major block partway through Goldeneyes. Something about trying to fictionalize Weedpatch froze me. I simply could not get past the reality of the place enough to create my story. I mean, my childhood memories are all wrapped up right there in that little community, and they overwhelmed me—the good and the bad. I spent a lot of time on my knees. When God finally gave me the release, He also gave me the inspiration, and the rest of the book flowed easily. So I guess I overcame it on my knees. 🙂

What has been your experience working with critique partners and or mentors?

I have a mentor who lives about 40 miles from me. Margaret Daley has written over 50 novels, and is part of my Tulsa writer’s group. I always feel that I can go with her advice, because she’s been where I am and knows the drill. As for critique partners, author Sally Laity and I do that for each other. Sally’s been a tremendous blessing to me, and I thank God for her. I also have a reader who looks at all of my work before I send it out anywhere. Saundra Randolph is an avid reader, and recognizes flow problems in a snap. She also watches out for typos and content issues. For instance, did my hero have blue eyes in one chapter and brown one in another? I’m blessed with talented people who care about my books, and want them to be right.

When you’re not writing, what are your favorite things to do?

I love to design promotional pieces for other authors. Most specifically, I design bookmarks, but I also create designs for posters, business cards, and postcards. Some of my work can be seen at http://www.deliadesigns.webs.com.

I also love to sing, but of course my favorite thing to do is spend time with my family and friends. Nothing takes the place of making memories with the people you love.

 

  

Related Posts:

Meet Mystery Author A. K. Arenz

Chatting About Writing with Author Sibella Giorello

Let’s Chat…An Interview with Author Keith Clemons

 

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

 

14 Responses

  1. Great interview. I have not read any of her books yet. I’ll have to see if I can get one of hers!

    Blessings
    Michelle V

  2. Great interview. Delia’s books sound intriguing.

  3. Sharon, thanks so much for hosting me! I appreciate it, and I look forward to chatting with you and your readers.

    Michelle and Julie, thanks for stopping by. Both of my books are available through Amazon.com, just as an easy find. 🙂

    Readers, questions and comments are welcome! Be sure to leave an e-mail addy if you’d like to be entered into the drawing.

  4. Michelle and Julia, thank you both for stopping by. I’m so glad you enjoyed my interview with Delia. 🙂

  5. Delia, you’re so welcome. It was my pleasure having you as a guest. Blessings to you as you continue to write for our King.

  6. Hi Sharon & Delia –

    I enjoyed getting to know a little about you, Delia. Great interview.

    Your books have interesting concepts. I’ll have to check them out.

    Blessings,
    Susan 🙂

  7. Thank you, Susan! And thanks for stopping by.

  8. Delia, I didn’t realize you love to sing! How fun.

    reading_frenzy at yahoo dot com

  9. Hi, LuAnn! Years ago (I can’t even believe how MANY years!), I was the lead singer in a Country Western band. It was loads of fun, and I actually made a couple of demo recordings. One of these days I’ll try to find them and post a song or two on my website, just for giggles. 😀

  10. Oh how I wish I could sing. Delia, it’s so neat that you were in a C&W band–and you have a demo recording, too! I don’t know about LuAnn, but I’d love to hear you sing someday. 🙂

  11. Thank you, Susan! I’m so glad you were able to swing by. Blessings….

  12. Someday when I get brave, Sharon… 😀 It’s amazing what NOT being up on stage for a long time does to your self-confidence.

  13. Another great interview, Sharon. Thanks!

  14. Hi, Mary! Thank you for dropping by. I’m glad you enjoyed my interview with Sharon. She does an excellent job, doesn’t she? 🙂

Leave a Reply

