Dragon Speech Recognition Software

I heard about Nuance, the makers of Dragon Speech Recognition Software, while listening to a Grammer Girl podcast, and I thought the concept of the product sounded very interesting. While the basic premise of what Dragon software offers is pretty straight forward, the long range benefits and uses for the product are tremendous. Before I get ahead of myself, let me begin by explaining what the product does. In a nutshell, Dragon Speech Recognition Software turns talk into type.

Since most people talk an average of 120 words per minute, but type much slower, an average of 40 words per minute, DSR software offers a fast and convenient method for boosting productivity. Through speech recognition, all a person needs to do is speak to their computer and they’ll be able to completely bypass typing on the keyboard, thereby saving precious time.

Imagine being able to control your PC, create and send email, letters, spreadsheets, etc. all with your voice and without the necessity of typing. How cool would it be to talk to your computer and write your manuscript without having to type it? I wear wrist guards on both hands because of constant wrist pain. I have to say, the notion of being able to give my hands a rest sounds pretty darn appealing.

“With speech recognition software from Nuance Communications, you can turn your voice into text three times faster than most people type. Just start talking, and the software will recognize your voice instantly, delivering up to 99% accuracy as soon as you get started. Accuracy will continually improve the more you use the software.” Nuance.com

Think about it, how much faster and more productive could you be if you could speak commands to your computer or just talk as opposed to typing everything? Just the time factor alone is amazing, not to mention the physical benefits of comfort and pain-free productivity.

Priced at $199, the software is fairly affordable. Although DSR software isn’t in my budget today, I’m definitely going to keep my eye on this product. How about you, do you think you would want voice recoginition software?

 

 

Related Posts:

Barnes and Noble Nook vs. the Amazon Kindle

The Vook is Here

CLASSeminars – Training for Christian Communicators

 

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

 

8 Responses

  1. How cool is that? I am not a techno-geek at all–I’s still be watching my 13-inch cathode ray tube TV if not for my husband’s influence, but this, I can dig. Thanks for sharing this, Sharon. I can’t wait for next year’s tax return. . . LOL

  2. Kathleen, I’m waiting for next year’s return too. LOL 🙂

  3. I use it and it’s wonderful. It does take some time for it to “learn” your voice pattern. My version is older. I’d say the new one would have excellent recognition. I use it to write manuscripts but not for other computer work.

  4. Hi Melinda,
    I’m so glad you shared your experience with using DVR software. I wondered how long it would take for the product to learn a person’s voice. I also wondered if as a user there was a long learning curve to understanding how to fully use the software.

    Thanks for the quick overview. It was very helpful.

    Sharon

  5. Yes, there is a learning curve to understand the commands. I sometimes type and dicatate together instead of saying “period end quote” at the end of a dialogue, for example.
    It will make mistakes on words that sound alike. They’re, there, their. When you verbally make the corrections it “learns.” The more you use it, the better it becomes at knowing which you want. It learns from context and likes full sentences rather than short phrases. It’s a great tool, but like any new software, it takes practice.

  6. While in Bible School, one of my job assignments was to transcribe tapes of sermons. No editing was required. Someone else had the job of cleaning up all the um’s and ah’s, incomplete sentences, etc.

    A book produced with this technology would no doubt go faster on the initial draft. The editing phase…no so much.

    Blessings,
    Susan 🙂

  7. Good point, Susan, editing and revisions would still take time.

  8. Susan is correct, but I also use it for editing. Once you master the commands, it rolls along at rather easily. An entire section can be selected, moved, or deleted with a few words. Typos can be corrected and word substitution is easy. When my wrists or fingers hurt, it’s nuce to talk rather than type.

Leave a Reply

