Visiting Today is Author Cathy Bryant

Cathy Bryant’s first novel, Texas Roads, was chosen as a finalist in the 2009 American Christian Fiction Writers’ Genesis contest. Cathy has written several devotions that have been published in books, magazines and online. A Texas gal by birth, Cathy lives in a century-old Texas farmhouse, complete with picket fence, flowers, butterflies, and late summer mosquitoes the size of your fist. Learn more about Cathy at http://www.CatBryant.com or at http://www.WordVessel.blogspot.com.

Cathy, I had no idea you were from East Texas. Your farmhouse seems like the perfect place to write your first novel, Texas Roads. What is the book about?

Actually I’m from central Texas, but currently live in East Texas. I’ve also lived in North Texas and West Texas and the Panhandle. (As you can see I’m Texan through and through!)

Texas Roads is about a disillusioned widow’s quest for home. When Dani Davis stumbles upon Miller’s Creek, Texas, with its quaint country charm, quirky residents, and business potential, it seems like the perfect place to start over…except for the cowboy who gives her a ride into town. Then malicious rumors and a devastating discovery propel her down a road she never expected to travel.

When did you first know that you wanted to be a writer?

I honestly don’t remember a time in my life that writing hasn’t been a part of who I am. I’ve been reading and writing stories since I was a little girl, took part in writing contests during my high school years, and worked for my hometown newspaper as my after-school job. Even when I was teaching music in the public schools, one of my sideline duties was that of writing coach for school-sponsored writing contests.

Tell us about your writing lair. What’s your favorite writing space like?

While my Texas farmhouse is big on charm, it’s small on space, so most rooms have to serve double, triple, and even quadruple duty. My writing room is also my music room, library, and guest bedroom. My desk is a piece of plywood atop two old filing cabinets and sandwiched between two bookshelves. Not too glamorous, but very functional. My favorite thing about my writing space is that it overlooks my white picket fence and cottage garden—great inspiration for writing Texas Roads.

What was your biggest challenge to becoming a published writer?

Everything about being a writer is challenging—studying, writing, endless edits and revisions, sending my “baby” out to be critiqued, the publishing process, marketing—the list goes on and on. It’s a good thing that I enjoy a challenge, huh? If I had to choose my least favorite part of the process, I would have to say revisions, even though I hope that as I grow as a writer that part will come easier.

If you had to list three resources (books, conferences, websites etc.) that have helped you the most, which three would you list?

Only three? This is a tough question! Okay, I’ll try to narrow it down, though it means leaving some of my favorite resources off the list.

  • Writing the Breakout Novel, book and workbook by Donald Maass
  • The Hero’s Two Journeys, DVD set by Michael Hague and Christopher Vogler
  • My Book Therapy, Ning site and blog, by Susan May Warren & Rachel Hauck

Thanks so much for the opportunity to visit you on your blog, Sharon! I enjoyed it!

 

 

Related Posts:

An Interview with Author Miralee Ferrell

Author Kit Wilkinson Visits Us Today

Meet Romance and Southern Fiction Author Missy Tippens

 

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

 

8 Responses

  1. Sharon, thanks so much for having me at your blog today!

  2. Hi Sharon & Cathy –

    Great interview! I also belong to My Book Therapy, but haven’t gotten too involved. Perhaps I should. 🙂

    Blessings,
    Susan

  3. Cathy, it was truly my pleasure. Have a wonderful holiday weekend. 🙂

  4. Thank you, Susan. Hope you have a wonderful Memorial holiday weekend. 🙂

  5. Susan, thanks for dropping by. I not only think that Susan May Warren is a great author, but also one of the best teachers on the craft of writing for CBA authors.

    Hope you both have a great weekend! =)

  6. Thanks, Susan and Sharon! I had not heard of The Hero’s Two Journeys DVDs. They sound great.

  7. Mary, thank you for stopping by today. Have a wonderful Memorial Day weekend.

  8. Great interview! I’ll have to add the book to my “to be read ” pile.

Leave a Reply

