God Alone is Enough by Claudia Mair Burney

Claudia Mair Burney is the author of seven novels, including the Amanda Bell Brown mysteries, and Zora and Nicky, a Christy Award finalist in 2009. Readers familiar with her style will enjoy this rollicking journey through their own interior castles. She lives in Kentucky, where she also authors the popular blog, “Ragamuffin Diva.”

Claudia Mair does an excellent job of introducing readers to St. Teresa of Avila. Even the following quote by St. Teresa moved me. “It’s silly to think that my words could be meaningful to anyone other than my friends, but if one person reads this and praises my Beloved a little more, God will be granting me a great favor. He knows I’m not interested in anything else. If I manage to say something well, my friends understand that this doesn’t come from me; there would be no foundation for it unless the Lord gives it to me! If they’re wrong about this, it will be because they’re as ignorant as I am incapable. Only God in his mercy gives such things to us.—St. Teresa of Avila.


I’m delighted to host Claudia on her blog tour as she sheds light on St. Teresa’s amazing life and spiritual wisdom. My focus today is specifically on Chapter 12 which dives deeper into examining one of St. Teresa’s most interesting books, The Interior Castle. In this chapter, we as readers are walked through the supernatural relationship all believers have with God. What I really enjoyed about this chapter was the simplicity of Claudia’s explanations of meaty concepts that pushed me to examine my own relationship with the Lord, especially in the area of prayer. This book will definitely touch the heart of any person looking to grow spiritually and wanting to connect with God in a real and powerful way.


Here is the back cover copy:

“Joyous, sprightly, earthy, zestful and real, St. Teresa of Avila comes bursting forth in this vibrant new book. Claudia Mair Burney is the perfect guide to lead readers into the freeing, but often misunderstood, spiritual insights of one of history’s most remarkable women.” — James Martin, SJ, author of My Life with the Saints

You have the opportunity to spend a few hours listening to the wise advice of a prayer warrior–one of the most interesting women to ever follow Jesus with abandon. So pull up a chair as Claudia Mair Burney introduces you to Teresa of Avila. You’ll be able to say you’ve met a real saint.

“A perfect read for all who thirst for spiritual waters.” — Lisa Samson, author of The Passion of Mary Margaret.

 

 

Related Posts:

Talking About Writing with Author Claudia Mair Burney

A Visit with Author Kimberly Cash Tate

Daddy’s Delight Blog Tour

 

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

 

4 Responses

  1. I love Claudia Burney’s books. She shows a broad ability in several genres. She’s funny, well written and her works are page turners. Now she writes a serious biography–she’s a remarkable writer.

    I think (?) Zora and Nicky is my fav. (And I see her agent is Chip MacGregor–I’m hoping Sandra Bishop from his agency takes me on). Someday, maybe I’ll meet her.

  2. Carol, I know what you mean about Claudia’s writing and I hope to meet her too! 🙂

  3. Thank you, lovies! Sharon, I’m so grateful you took the time to be a part of this book tour. This was absolutely lovely. I’m sorry I’ve taken so long to respond. I’m away at school, and life has been a little hectic.

    Many thanks. And I’m especially happy to hear you connected so well to the passage I began the book with. Only God gives us such things, indeed.

  4. Claudia,
    You are an angel and you’re always welcome to visit my blog anytime. 🙂

Leave a Reply

