Spotlight on Author Lyn Cote

When Lyn Cote became a mother, she gave up teaching, and while raising a son and a daughter, she began working on her first novel. Long years of rejection followed. Finally in 1997, Lyn got “the call.” Her first book, Never Alone, was chosen by Steeple Hill for the new Love Inspired romance line. Since then, Lyn has had over thirty novels published. In 2006 Lyn’s book, Chloe, was a finalist for the RITA, one of the highest awards in the romance genre. Lyn’s brand “Strong Women, Brave Stories,” always includes three elements: a strong heroine who is a passionate participant in her times, authentic historical detail and a multicultural cast of characters. Lyn also features stories of strong women both from real life and true to life fiction on her blog http://strongwomenbravestories.blogspot.com Lyn also can be found on Facebook, Twitter and Goodreads. Drop by and “friend or follow” her. Now living her dream of writing books at her lake cottage in northern Wisconsin, Lyn hopes her books show the power of divine as well as human love.

Her latest release is Her Abundant Joy, the final book in her Texas Star of Destiny series, to purchase drop by her website or blog.

Lyn, I understand you have a new book coming out this month. Can you start by telling us about the story?

Shelter of Hope is the first in my New Friends Street series. Each story centers around the building of one of 3 Habitat for Humanity houses in a small mythic WI town. Each story is the story of the new family that is created during this good work. Shelter of Hope is Rosa Santos and Marc Chambers story. Rosa is a single mom and Marc is a man struggling to overcome a personal tragedy.

I’m so bummed that I won’t be able to attend the ACFW conference this year!

My Dec 2009 LIH Her Patchwork Family is up for the new Carol Award too.

Have you found much value in attending writing conferences? Tell us one of your fondest memories from a conference you attended.

I’m bummed too. I can’t go either. But I do find value in attending conferences but more so BEFORE I was published. My fondest memory is of the RWA National Conference in Dallas in 1996. I was sitting in the only inspirational workshop at that one. And just behind me, Anne Canadeo stood up and announced the opening of the new Love Inspired line. I was tempted to leap over the back of my chair into her lap. But being raised to be polite, I merely talked to her after the workshop. 🙂 She called the next March to tell me she wanted to publish my book, Never Alone. She said she would have called earlier but my manuscript got put “on the wrong pile.” 🙂 But that was God’s doing. He wanted me to have acquired my excellent agent (the late Jane Jordan Browne) before I got the CALL.

What was the last book you’ve read that truly inspired you? What made the story touch your heart?

This must be An Inconvenient Friend by Rhonda McKnight. And outstanding & audacious inspirational novel of a mistress who decides to get to know her lover’s wife so she can replace the wife, as “the new model.” Of course, from the first page on, the reader knows this will not turn out well. And that makes it a page turner. And it shows that God can use any circumstances to work His will in a life.

I visited your blog and enjoyed the cozy feeling of it. How long have you been blogging, and how do you find time to maintain it?

I started on November 30, 2008. I waited till I came up with a theme that would make my blog distinctive and personal. My brand is “Strong Women, Brave Stories” so I chose to feature stories of strong women. My mission statement is under my photo: “I hope my stories of strong
women will transform our thinking about ourselves, God and those different from us for the better.”

Tell us about the person who has most encouraged you as a writer.

There were many, but Roberta Pierce, a dear friend in IA who is now studying to become a Lutheran pastor, gave me her one free afternoon a week for around 5 years. She was my first “reader.”

This last question is all about fun. If you could be a superhero, what super powers would you like to have?

That is an interesting question. I don’t want to be able to read minds or see through things with X-Ray vision. I guess it would be flying. I always envy the birds!

Thanks for having me, Sharon. And I wish you well in all your pursuits.

 

 

Related Posts:

Inspirational Romance Author – Delia Latham

A Visit with Romance Author Cecelia Dowdy

Romance Writer Julie Lessman Joins Us Today

 

 

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

 

2 Responses

  1. Sharon, nice to meet Lyn up close and personal.

    Thanks!

    Patti

  2. Thanks for having me, Sharon. And nice to see you too, Patti!

Leave a Reply

